Discover the rich history of this prestigious estate.
1780 - 1959
Sir Henry Paul Seale
Hillfield Village has a fascinating history, which can be traced back to the 18th Century, when it was the home of Sir Henry Paul Seale.
The Seale family were merchants who were first recorded in Dartmouth as long ago as 1401, but who moved to Dartmouth from Jersey in 1720 and were based there until 1870. During much of this time they used the coat of arms granted to Robert Seale of Northumberland. Their influence spread across the town and beyond.
Sir John Henry Seale (1780 – 1844) was a powerful man in Dartmouth at the turn of the 18th Century. He held extensive property and land in and around Dartmouth, including a Country Estate at Hillfield, a manor at Townstal and Mount Boone, his large mansion overlooking the town.
1959 - 1987
Merchants to entrepreneurs
'For Sale – House with 10 Bedrooms, 2 Reception Rooms, Butler’s Pantry, stabling for four horses, sitting in 12 acres.'
In 1959, an advert appeared in the Sunday Times offering For Sale – House with 10 Bedrooms, 2 Reception Rooms, Butler’s Pantry, stabling for four horses, sitting in 12 acres. This advert was seen by two brothers, Bert and Len Range, who came from a wealthy family of coal merchants in London. The brothers purchased Hillfield House in December 1959.
Bert and Len had plans to turn Hillfield into a touring caravan site, but their application was rejected by the local council on the grounds that the roads around Hillfield were too narrow.
As a compromise, the council offered planning for 30 chalets, which were built over the next five years, gradually increasing
to about 65 in number, together with a swimming pool including changing rooms and toilets.
Hillfield Holiday Estate (as it was known then) enjoyed much success during the 1960s and 70s, with its luxury chalets providing a wonderful holiday destination for families from all parts of the UK.
The chalets offered two styles of luxury accommodation, the 'Redlap', which offered accommodation for 4 or 5 guests and the 'Miami Six', which could accommodate up to 6 guests. Each chalet offered hot and cold running water, an electric cooker and fire and its very own personal flushing toilet!
1987 - 2012
Cottages and Country House
In April 1987, having seen an advert in the Daily Telegraph, Hillfield Cottages and Country House was purchased by Dereck and Edwina Anderton, who were looking for a change in business and a move to sunny Devon from the West Midlands. Dereck and Edwina’s daughter Caroline, and her husband Michael, joined them at Hillfield Village in December 2002.
Hillfield Village changed dramatically throughout this time, including the demolition of the 65 chalets, construction of the luxury cottages and apartments you see today, the complete refurbishment of the Manor House and the building of our superb all weather tennis court.
2012 - today
Current day Hillfield Village luxury
Hillfield Cottages and Country House was purchased by its current owners, Yellow Bridge Developments in December 2012. Since then it has been rebranded to become Hillfield Village and has undergone further construction, including four 5-bedroom properties now located along the driveway entrance and refurbishment of the Old Barn into a single luxury accommodation. A number of other properties have also been subject to internal refurbishment.
From summer 2015 a number of properties at Hillfield Village became available to purchase as a main residence, holiday home or as a property that can be made available for holiday rentals through Hillfield Village’s holiday letting partners Coast & Country Cottages.
Hillfield Village remains a unique and beautiful location, with a long history of providing luxury self-catering holiday accommodation in the